Gen Bipin Rawat, Indian Army Chief to be Chiefs of Staff Committee new Chairman


Chief of the Army Gen Bipin Rawat will take over as the new Chair of the Chiefs of Staff Committee, succeeding Chief of the Indian Air Force (IAF), Air Chief Marshal B.S. Dhanoa, who will withdraw from service by the end of this month.

The Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC) is made up of Army, Navy and Air Force chiefs, and its chairman is appointed to the senior majority of members.

COSC Chairman is responsible for ensuring synergy between the three services and developing a common approach to address the country’s internal safety problems.

General Rawat, the first chief of the army to hold the post of Chiefs of Staff Committee since Gen Bikram Singh (2013-14), may be the last in the post as Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that his government would go ahead and appoint a Chief of Defense Staff (CDS) to replace the current tri-service committee.

The chief of the army is also scheduled to retire in late 2019.

On May 29, Air Chief Marshal Dhanoa took over from then Navy Chief Admiral Sunil Lanba as Chiefs of Staff Committee (COSC) Chairman.

On 31 December 2016, Gen. Rawat took office as Chief of Staff of the Army.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *